you're reading...
Christianity, Theist Wackiness

Shirley Phelps-Roper on Nate Phelps

At the end of the day, rebel Nate who is a man of the flesh according to the Bible, cannot get it into his head the the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom. The child crying over a fear of hell is exactly what is intended by the plain language of the scriptures. 

There it is in print.  The Bible, read literally, is a very, very bad influence.  This is as plain as we could expect any Christian to be.  God wants us to scare little children the way Nate… and I… were scared by our respective religious indoctrinations.

Hell can be sugar coated, ignored, or reinvented, but the simple fact shines through in the mind of a child:  This horrible, awful punishment awaits me if I do not believe things which appear to be false.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Shirley Phelps-Roper on Nate Phelps

  1. Wow. In my opinion, that kind of ideology crosses the line of religious freedom and should just be considered out-and-out child abuse. How anyone can, in good conscience, feel that way (and more horribly… ACT that way) is just beyond my comprehension.

    Posted by Dan Gilbert | April 16, 2009, 3:48 pm
  2. I have just 3 words for Shirley:

    Keep singin’, sister!

    Seriously, I love Shirley Phelps-Roper. She’s the Phelps equivalent of Susan Atkins; she just can’t keep that mouth of hers shut, and some day, she’ll be the one who gets that motherfucker nailed with something.

    Tell us MORE, Shirley. Go on. Keep letting us know the ways that Nate was a bad boy and what was done to punish him for it.

    Posted by Kevin R Brown | April 18, 2009, 3:45 am
  3. Too true! Hell was rarely discussed when I was growing up, but it always lurked in the background. I never gave it much thought until I started having serious doubts…I was so relieved when I realized it was a myth!

    Posted by atheistyogi | April 18, 2009, 9:12 pm
  4. I read the transcript of Nate Phelps speech to the American Atheist ’09 convention. Quite enlightening I’d say.

    Hey, have you forgotten me?

    Posted by John W. Loftus | April 23, 2009, 3:43 pm
  5. Hey, John. No, I haven’t forgotten you. Hang in there… we’re working out a couple of issues right now, unfortunately.

    I’m glad they printed the speech in its entirety. I wonder if there’s a video of it that’s going to be viewable by the public. It would be worthwhile for people to be able to hear him deliver it. As moving as the words themselves are, it was an entirely different experience seeing it firsthand.

    Posted by hambydammit | April 23, 2009, 5:17 pm
  6. Shirley Phelps-Roper like her father, is a shining example of absolute evil, Satan personified, the devil incarnate. That’s it in a nutshell. She makes me sorry there isn’t really a hell because if there were, she would be burning in it.

    Posted by Tom | May 14, 2010, 1:47 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow Me On Twitter!

