you're reading...
current events, Religion

Pope Blames Atheists for Global Warming

It’s true.  This is pretzel logic at its finest.  Here’s the direct quote from Der Popenfuhrer:

Experiencing the shared responsibility for creation (Cf. 51), the Church is not only committed to the promotion of the defense of the earth, of water and of air, given by the Creator to everyone, but above all is committed to protect man from the destruction of himself. In fact, “when ‘human ecology’ is respected in society, environmental ecology also benefits” (ibid). Is it not true that inconsiderate use of creation begins where God is marginalized or also where is existence is denied? If the human creature’s relationship with the Creator weakens, matter is reduced to egoistic possession, man becomes the “final authority,” and the objective of existence is reduced to a feverish race to possess the most possible.

Is this political aggrandizing or just plain delusion?  It’s  hard to tell, isn’t it?  The Pope is saying rather unequivocally that lacking belief in god turns people into egotistical destroyers of the environment.  I find this accusation puzzling on a number of layers.  First, we know what causes people to be conspicuous consumers.  I wrote about it here.   Conspicuous consumption is a demonstrable effect of the math underpinning natural selection.   Second, I did a relatively thorough web search looking for Christian Environmental Organizations.  I looked briefly through the seventeen hits I got that looked remotely like they might be what I was looking for.  It appears that only a couple, like Christian Ecology Link, actually fit the bill as genuinely Christian environmental protection organizations.  Their activities include especially effective activities, like this one:  Oct 4th is to be a Day of Prayer about Climate Change.

When I searched for non-affiliated environmental organizations, I quickly realized that if I checked all the websites as I did the Christian ones, I’d be here until the rising sea covers New Orleans.  There are thousands.  Maybe tens of thousands.  Furthermore, after a little perusing, it became clear to me that the secular organizations are saying pretty much the same thing as the Christian ones.  Lots of stuff about saving rainforests and reducing energy consumption.

I looked at the Greenpeace website, and could find no information about Jesus, but I did learn that the organization was formed in 1971 — almost 40 years ago.  The Christian Ecology Link was formed in 1981, a decade later, and it’s the oldest organization I can find.

Surely these web searches aren’t conclusive, but I’m shocked to see so many organizations from all countries and continents when True Environmentalism™ is only possible through the one true savior, our Lord Jesus Christ.

Pardon my indelicacy Mr. Representative of All That’s Holy on Earth, but shove it up your ass.  Stop portraying us atheists as horrible people.  Some of the world’s most active environmentalists are atheists.  Most of the scientists working on the problem of Global Warming worldwide are not Christians.  The United States, the most singularly Christian modern nation on earth, is the most wasteful nation on earth.

First you want to take credit for inventing science.  Then suddenly you’re sort of ok with this whole evolution thing.  Then you want to steal environmentalism for yourself?

If the Church does deserve recognition for a particular achievement, it should be this:  You get the gold medal for opposing science until it becomes overwhelmingly obvious that it’s true, then trying to say you invented it in the first place.  You are first rate theives.


Discussion

6 thoughts on “Pope Blames Atheists for Global Warming

  1. Would you mind giving us the citation for the quote you are using here? I’d like to read it in context. Because I don’t see any mention of global warming in the text quoted and I don’t see him blaming atheists for it. I don’t see him doing the name-calling that you are in this post. I really would like to read what he said, if you don’t mind posting a link or the full text. Thank you.

    Posted by Disciple | August 28, 2009, 5:35 pm
  2. Whoops. Meant to link that in the main text. Here it is on Catholic.net: http://www.catholic.net/index.php?option=zenit&id=26693

    His specific words are: “The different phenomena of environmental degradation and natural calamities, which unfortunately are often reported in the news, remind us of the urgency of the respect owed to nature, recovering and appreciating, in every day life, a correct relation with the environment.”

    So, sure.. you got me, he’s not using the words “Global Warming” specifically. Pardon me for not being as careful about politics as the pope. He needs wiggle room. I don’t. I’m curious, though. Which parts of the paragraph I quoted in the main text do you think aren’t blaming atheists for being worse stewards of the environment than theists?

    Posted by hambydammit | August 28, 2009, 6:20 pm
  3. While I’m at it, do me a favor. List all the names I called people. Actually, never mind. Here’s the comprehensive list:

    Der Popenfuhrer
    Mr. Representative of All That’s Holy on Earth

    That’s it.

    It should be clear to you that I’m not a fan of the pope, but I’m curious, is my second “name” for him inaccurate? Isn’t that what he is?

    Is he not the ultimate authority for the One True Religion on earth? Is that not… somewhat… fuhrer-like?

    Would you like to discuss whether or not my name calling was unjustified? Would you like to tell me that the substance of my post is incorrect because I used two disrespectful names to refer to His Holiness?

    Posted by hambydammit | August 28, 2009, 6:30 pm
  4. great post, great read. definitely interesting and comical.

    Posted by lillybilly010 | March 25, 2010, 12:26 pm
  5. You neglected to point out that the most adamant opposition to environmental stewardship comes from the most committedly religious. Attitudes ranging from “we don’t need to worry, because God will provide whatever we need if we just pray hard enough” to “it doesn’t matter if we trash the planet, because the Second Coming will be any day now” to “we want to trash the planet as fast as we can because it will hasten the Second Coming” are all inherently religious, and carry a disturbing amount of weight in the US.

    Posted by Opisthokont | January 11, 2011, 7:10 pm
  6. You’re right, Opisthokont. It does seem that environmental irresponsibility is heavily correlated with high religiosity. I don’t know any fundamentalist Christian environmentalists. And if a mega-church isn’t an exercise in irresponsible environmental stewardship, I don’t know what is.

    Posted by hambydammit | January 15, 2011, 7:51 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow Me On Twitter!

