you're reading...
Activism, Atheism

Greta Christina: Open Letter to Believers

As much as I enjoy being the guy who comes up with the really eloquent ways to say things, I also love tipping my hat to someone who does it better than me.  Here’s the beginning of an “Open Letter to Believers,” by Greta Christina.  I encourage all my readers to go there and read it in its entirety.

Dear Believer:

Thank you for your concern about the well-being of the atheist movement, and for your advice on how to run it. I appreciate your concern for the image of the atheist movement, and I appreciate you taking the time to give us advice on how to get our message across more effectively.

In particular, I have received your observation that attempts to persuade people out of their religious beliefs are often seen as rude or offensive — along with your suggestion that we therefore should stop making our case altogether. I have also received your suggestion that, if we do feel it necessary to point out the flaws in religion, we do so gently and diplomatically, making the avoidance of any possible offense or hurt feelings our absolute top priority. I have received your observation that attempts to persuade people out of religious beliefs can be divisive, possibly alienating the progressive ecumenical religious community — and I have received your suggestion that we should therefore concentrate entirely on anti-discrimination and separation of church and state issues that we have in common with progressive believers, and abandon any focus on pointing out the flaws in religion or the harm done by it.

Read It Here

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Me On Twitter!

