you're reading...
Uncategorized

The Atheist and the Christian

If my previous post seems a bit out of the ordinary, it’s because it is.  A new reader is a born again Christian and has done me the honor of inviting me to the National Conference on Christian Apologetics next month.   I’ve happily accepted.  The list of speakers is very impressive.  Check it out HERE.  (How in the world are they going to fit that many speakers into two days!?  Perhaps I’m in store for a modern version of the miracle of the loaves and fishes.)

Until the conference, I’m going to be spending the bulk of my time pursuing a different course here at Life Without a Net.  I’ve promised my new friend that I will go in with an open mind and ask honest questions.  I’ve asked the same of her.  Rather than force her to dig through the archives and sort through all of my articles to get to the ones about Christianity, atheism, and critical thought, I’m going to try to tell my story in the most direct and accessible way I can.  There isn’t going to be a lot of in depth analysis of doctrine or any of that.  If you miss that sort of thing, just search the tag “Critical thinking” or “philosophy.”  This is going to be an exercise in humanity without all the science.  I’ll ask the tough questions at the conference if I get the chance.

To that end, I will of course do my best to speak with as many apologists as possible.  With any luck, I’ll be able to get some of them to talk with me on the record.  Speaking of which, there’s an interesting side note to this whole story.  A few nights ago, I approached a street preacher and told him that I don’t believe in god.  I asked if he would take a few minutes and talk to me, and do you know what he said?  “NO!  I don’t want to talk to your kind!”

Seriously?  The man presumably is interested in saving the souls of the lost, right?  Well, I admit to being one of the lost!  And he was not in the least interested in talking to me.  After I informed him of this apparent hypocrisy, he grudgingly gave me about thirty seconds of his time.  I am sad to say that rather than continue talking to me, he found a better diversion in arguing with another Christian.  Very sad, if you ask me.  Rather than try to help someone who is in danger of going to hell, he preferred to argue doctrine with someone he’ll have eternity to argue with.  I certainly hope I am better received at the conference.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The Atheist and the Christian

  1. The mere fact that the divinely inspired words of God needs apologetics seems to indicate problems with the basic text. You’d think God could have mastered the language and communicated clearly.

    Anyway… if you’re ever in Connecticut I’ll take you to the DInosaur State Park. Hundreds of dinosaur footprints to be seen. You can actually see the texture of the skin in some of them.

    Just sayin’….

    Posted by Athol Kay: Married Man Sex Life | September 20, 2010, 6:40 pm
  2. Wanted to know what you make of the Cosmological Argument for the existence of God?

    Regards

    Simon

    Posted by Simon Brace | September 27, 2010, 12:23 pm
  3. From Wikipedia:

    In light of the Big Bang theory, a stylized version of argument has emerged (sometimes called the Kalam cosmological argument, the following form of which was set forth by William Lane Craig[5]):
    Whatever begins to exist has a cause.
    The Universe began to exist.
    Therefore, the Universe had a cause.

    If we forget for a moment that we’ve discovered that time isn’t precisely linear, or that Quantum Theory has put a serious crimp in the notion of causation, or that in Planck Time, none of this conversation matters in the way any theologian has ever contemplated…

    IF that which exists is caused, AND the universe is caused, THEN the cause of the universe is caused.

    Conversely:

    IF there is an uncaused cause, THEN all that exists does not need a cause.

    QED.

    Posted by hambydammit | September 27, 2010, 1:35 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow Me On Twitter!

