you're reading...
Theist Wackiness

Jesus in the MRI: What a tease!

A practitioner of Jesus worship has mouth cancer.  Presumably at the advice of her physician, she had an MRI performed.  Apparently, Jesus decided that it would be fun to turn himself into an MRI scan for a while, so he did.  See the pictures HERE.

As of this time, she still has mouth cancer.  But she feels better knowing that Jesus enjoys posing for MRIs.

Personally, it seems like a big tease to me.  Couldn’t he have made magic writing appear instead?  Something like:  “Hey, thanks for worshiping me properly!  To show my appreciation, I’ve magically cured your mouth cancer.  Get your doctor to take a look.”  Now if that happened, I’d be very tempted to try some Jesus worship of my own.  But as it stands, it seems to me that this woman isn’t very well trained in interpreting MRIs and has mistaken her mouth for Jesus.  Very sad.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Jesus in the MRI: What a tease!

  1. That’s not Jesus. It’s the face from Mars!

    Posted by Nicole | October 5, 2010, 8:47 pm
  2. Oh for Pete’s sake, I could look at this and see John Lennon or Pete Townsend. That means absolutely nothing, it’s pareidolia.

    Posted by Jason Fuller | October 5, 2010, 9:58 pm
  3. That’s not Jesus, it’s Osama bin Laden! So *that’s* where he’s been hiding all of this time – right under our noses.

    Posted by J. Quinton | October 6, 2010, 11:22 am
  4. I dunno, I think that if a woman finds any kind of peace or comfort in what she believes she sees, there is no harm in that. She’s got oral cancer. She’s going to need all the coping mechanisms she can manage.

    Posted by Aldonza | October 7, 2010, 4:42 pm
  5. I dunno, I think that if a woman finds any kind of peace or comfort in what she believes she sees, there is no harm in that.

    There was a guy in North Carolina, if memory serves, who broke his ankle. (I wrote about this several months ago, but I don’t feel like looking up the link. If you really want to see the story, I’ll dig it up.) Anyway, he got some kind of sign from his god. I don’t recall what it was, but in his mind, it was a clear sign that he was going to be healed by magic.

    So he sat at home and waited. And didn’t go to the hospital. And died in agony several months later from all the medical complications.

    Maybe this woman will continue to receive medical care, and her belief in the magical MRI portrait will have a placebo effect which will aid her recovery. On the other hand, maybe she will put all her faith in Jesus, as many churches encourage sick people to do. That would not be good.

    She’s got oral cancer. She’s going to need all the coping mechanisms she can manage.

    I’m not without compassion, and I do think that prayer and other religious coping mechanisms can have a real effect, regardless of whether there’s an actual agent listening on the other side. (Did you see my article on faith healings?) If I were to meet this lady, I certainly wouldn’t try to convince her that she’s just a gullible sheep. She’s got bigger things to worry about right now.

    In fact, if you have the time, give me an hour or so and come back. I was just starting an article on this very subject for today’s post. I think you’ll appreciate it.

    Posted by hambydammit | October 7, 2010, 5:32 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow Me On Twitter!

