you're reading...
Christianity, Culture

Yes, You’re My Brother, Governor

“Now I will have to say that, if we don’t have the same daddy, we’re not brothers and sisters. So anybody here today who has not accepted Jesus Christ as their savior, I’m telling you, you’re not my brother and you’re not my sister, and I want to be your brother.”

Newly elected Alabama Governor Robert Bentley isn’t making any friends in the atheist community.  These words, spoken at the Dexter Avenue King Memorial Church, have made it plain how he feels about the inherent worth of non-believers.  Despite his almost immediate Olympic Backpedal (on the advice of his politically savvy Communications Advisor), it’s clear that bigotry as usual will be the order of the day during the next administration.

I hate to break this to you, Governor, but you are my brother.  We’ve got the same genes, and if we go back far enough, we’ve got the same mother.  (Do you believe in evolution, brother?  I am scared to guess…)

Granted, you’re like the brother I end up apologizing for every time I take you out in public.  But you’re my brother.  And if you ever came to dinner at my house, you wouldn’t hear one word about what I think of your religion.  Not unless you brought it up first and forced it out of me.  It’s a shame you don’t have the courtesy or respect for your brothers to do the same thing.

Being the governor of a state is a lot of work, brother.  You’ve got budget problems.  You’ve got an entire coast that’s dying for any kind of influx of tourist money.  (A lot of those potential tourists are non-believers, by the way.)  You’ve got broken toilet seats at Fort Conde.  Did you know that?  Things are so bad, there isn’t money to fix toilet seats at one of the bigger tourist attractions in your biggest tourist city.  You’ve got more to worry about than whether or not I believe your silly story of talking snakes and zombie saviors.  You better get to work on the important stuff.

You make me ashamed to be your brother.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Yes, You’re My Brother, Governor

  1. Hasn’t he heard of the expression “brother from a different mother”?

    Posted by cptpineapple | January 18, 2011, 11:48 pm
  2. Well said!

    Posted by Interested | January 19, 2011, 1:52 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow Me On Twitter!

