you're reading...
Uncategorized

New Look, New Feel

If you didn’t notice, my web address has changed.  I’ve also been working on a new look for the website, and I hope to be making more changes throughout the next week.

A couple of things you might notice off the bat:

  • On the right sidebar, there’s a handy list of the last ten posts, so you don’t have to scroll down through a long page anymore.
  • You can also keep track of what everybody’s reading with a list of my current top ten posts.
  • On the top menu bar, you’ll see Topics.  This should grow substantially over the next few weeks, and will include summaries of my most popular subjects, as well as links to articles.
With any luck, this will be the first of several changes over the next few months.  I hope to be able to offer easier access to more content, better site navigation, and more options for getting involved with secular charity and activism.

If you’ve got any permalinks to my sight running around the interweBz, be sure to check them and make sure they’re redirecting properly.  I’ll be leaving the old address up for quite a while, but eventually, the redirect won’t work anymore.  
What do you think?  Like it better?  Hate it?  Got any suggestions?  (Note:  If it looks really wonky, don’t fear.  It’s still under construction, and has its good and bad moments)
Discussion

7 thoughts on “New Look, New Feel

  1. Very nice new look. I like the clean, more organized view. I always look forward to your posts, and wish I had more time to contribute. Thanks for keeping it going.

    Posted by Nonya | April 19, 2011, 8:22 pm
  2. It looks great, Hamby! Glad to know about the new address.

    Posted by Susan Walsh | April 19, 2011, 8:47 pm
  3. I like it. I too look forward to your posts. Keep up the good fight.

    Posted by cheryl | April 19, 2011, 8:49 pm
  4. I like the new look in general, but the default font on your posts is awfully tiny. I typically increase font sizes a few levels (by hitting ctrl+), but yours is *still* small after doing so.

    Posted by thephilosophicalprimate | April 19, 2011, 11:30 pm
  5. That’s odd, TPP. It looks enormous on my screen. I’ll futz around with it a bit and see if I can default to something bigger.

    Posted by hambydammit | April 20, 2011, 4:31 pm
  6. The page isn’t as long as the last one, which I suppose leads to less scrolling.

    What I think you should add is the “recent comments” widget again. It was rather convienent to know if somebody replied.

    I’ve also updated your link from my blog.

    Posted by cptpineapple | April 20, 2011, 7:01 pm
  7. Ah. Good suggestion, Alison. I’ll be at the American Atheists Conference all weekend, so I may not get to it for a few days, but I’ll try to fit that back into the format.

    Posted by hambydammit | April 20, 2011, 7:12 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow Me On Twitter!

