you're reading...
Christianity

Woman Attempts to Murder Children and Self to Avoid Tribulation

At some point, I think it ought to be OK for us to say that faith makes people do very, very bad things they wouldn’t otherwise do.  Is there really any chicken and egg problem here?  Would this woman be in jail for an attempted double homicide if some crackpot religious nut hadn’t convinced her that a magical zombie is going to bring years of tribulation to the sinful earth starting this Sunday?

Maybe this woman is mentally unstable to begin with, but I don’t see that as an issue.  Lots of people are mentally unstable.  LOTS.  And if faith is dangerous to mentally unstable people, then that is a serious problem.  The fact that lots of people are reasonable enough to dismiss rapture claims is irrelevant.

Yes, it’s funny to laugh at whack jobs with signs about the end of the world.  But it’s also very, very sad that religion is taken to horrible extremes with startling regularity.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Woman Attempts to Murder Children and Self to Avoid Tribulation

  1. Maybe this woman is mentally unstable to begin with, but I don’t see that as an issue. Lots of people are mentally unstable. LOTS. And if faith is dangerous to mentally unstable people, then that is a serious problem. The fact that lots of people are reasonable enough to dismiss rapture claims is irrelevant.

    Hamby, I think you’re missing the point. It’s not that if they had more reason and critical thinking they would of done it anyway, it’s that they may be incapable of reasoning.

    At some point, I think it ought to be OK for us to say that faith makes people do very, very bad things they wouldn’t otherwise do.

    I agree that faith is a bad thing and people do stupid and nasty things because of it. That’s why I’m so vocal [and quite frankly I think it’s my moral imperative] to speak out against it where ever I see it regardless of it’s from a religious or atheist group*. You seem to mistake my objections with thinking faith is good or neutral.

    This is where we land in trouble. I never said faith doesn’t make people do bad things, I think I should have communicated that better and saved us both some trouble from the past few years.

    I also think that everybody has it on something, and that we’ll never get rid of it ergo, sadly, things like this will continue to happen and I don’t see how they’ll be reduced. Everytime a faith based belief get squashed, ten more come to take it’s place.

    *I’m defining ‘faith’ as operating despite a complete lack of evidence or evidence to the contrary.

    Posted by cptpineapple | May 20, 2011, 7:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow Me On Twitter!

