you're reading...
Atheism, Culture

Tim Minchin in Atlanta

If you’ve been living under a rock for the last couple of years, it’s possible you haven’t heard of Tim Minchin.  If, however, you are familiar with the Interwebz phenomenon known as Youtube, you know all about Tim, his crazy hair, and his scathingly witty invectives against everything woo.  You know his feelings about the Pope.

I was lucky enough to catch his performance last night in Atlanta, and to hang out with various atheist bigwigs.  I was surprised:  I expected the show to be great, and it exceeded my expectations by a long shot.  Part of me was giddy to be listening to a talented comedian with intelligent humor — humor that presumed a certain level of both education and critical thinking skills.  Part of me was about to jump out of my skin because I was so excited that everybody in the theater was not only getting the jokes, but loving them!  And the music geek in me was completely geeking out over Tim’s musical skill.

I don’t gloss over the importance of intelligent humor.  It seems like the only options in America for the last couple of decades have been NPR programs like Prairie Home Companion and Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me!  And while these are both fine programs if you like Werther’s Originals and bowties, they’re not really… um… relevant… to a lot of 20- or 30- somethings.  Tim Minchin is both relevant and damn funny.  And irreverent.  And manages to include young people’s favorite subjects — booze and sex — without descending into the standard mindless tripe regurgitated across ten Sirious Satellite channels of “Gittin’ er done.”

Here are youtube renditions of several of my favorite numbers from last night.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

Oh… if you didn’t catch the joke in the last video… alopecia is baldness.  He was saying his hypothetical wife in LA would have a thing for shaving or waxing her privates.  Get it?   (Lots of people in the theater did.  Isn’t education awesome?!)

 

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Tim Minchin in Atlanta

  1. I saw Tim in NY not too long ago. He was fantastic! My all-time favorite song is Thank You God. I’d link to it, but it doesn’t seem to be on youtube anymore 😦

    Posted by Tim Martin | July 15, 2011, 7:22 pm
  2. Evidently I have been under a rock for the last couple of years. I had never heard of him until I read your post. I spent the rest of the night watching his videos on YouTube and laughing. I hope he comes back to town soon.

    Posted by John | July 15, 2011, 11:04 pm
  3. Yes, Tim. Thank You God is not available on Youtube. I don’t know all of the details, but I do know it’s part of an album that we cannot get in the U.S. because some guy with a suit is arguing with some other guy in a suit about who gets someone else’s money.

    Posted by Living Life Without a Net | July 16, 2011, 1:07 pm
  4. Perhaps a little more education wouldn’t go astray. Suffering neck-down alopecia means there wouldn’t be any hair down there for her to shave or wax.

    Posted by Chick | July 17, 2011, 1:34 am
  5. I am soooooo glad you said that.

    ::signs into Japanese iTunes account::

    ::purchases Thank You God::

    Score! (^_^)v

    Posted by Tim Martin | July 17, 2011, 1:40 am
  6. Tim, you are my new hero.

    Posted by Living Life Without a Net | July 17, 2011, 2:21 am
  7. I love Tim Minchin but i cant seem to fing a pic of him with his wife. I love his songs he cracks me up!!

    Posted by Zoe McGarrick | September 7, 2011, 3:59 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow Me On Twitter!

