you're reading...
Christianity

How Much of the Bible Must Be Historical to Believe in Christianity?

MOSES BREAKS THE TABLES OF THE LAW.—Exodus xxx...

Image via Wikipedia

On September 30, blogger Brian LePorte asked the question:  “What events recorded in Scripture must be historical for you to affirm the truthfulness of Christianity?”  (LINKI thought it would be worth responding to this question from the other side:  What level of a-historicity was enough to convince me that Christianity was wrong?

As a disclaimer, I need to make it clear that leaving Christianity did not make me an atheist.  In fact, I went through several more phases of “spirituality,” exploring other religions, science, and philosophy for several years before I rejected all religion.  So, this is not an “argument for atheism.”  It is an argument against Christianity.

I was raised in a Biblical Literalist environment.  The preachers told me that the word of God was inerrant, and that everything was literally true.  Once I became sentient, it didn’t take long to reject that claim.  Between my step-father’s infatuation with American Indian artifacts older than the earth itself, and my growing knowledge of geologyphysics, andWorld History, it became clear that the Bible was far from a perfect document.  My first rejection of Christianity was the rejection of literal Christianity.

As my education progressed, and I discovered more and more inconsistencies with the Bible, I began to doubt even the metaphorical significance of some of the stories.  It was particularly shocking for me to discover that there was likely no Moses, and in fact, no Egyptian captivity, and certainly no Exodus.  To me, the Exodus had represented the first massive and powerful demonstration by Yahweh that the Israelites were the chosen people.  This line of thought also raised significant questions about the historicity of Abraham, the father of what would become my religion.  Once that dike had been breached, it wasn’t long before I started wondering about Adam and Eve.

READ THE REST ON EXAMINER.COM

 

Discussion

5 thoughts on “How Much of the Bible Must Be Historical to Believe in Christianity?

  1. For me, it’s rather more basic than that. There is the basic assumption that the creator is an IDIOT!! Having made the universe, in all it’s glory and complexity, it ‘forgot’ to give poor humans the knowledge of where they fit it.
    So It went out and found a ghost writer to set things right. Except that guy got it Wrong, so he found another, etc.
    The fact is, Religion isn’t about God; it’s about Man’s desire to have, hold and gain power, in the so called secular world. Any person who comes to you saying ‘I have the Answers you seek’, is Lying, if only to himself.
    The one thing I’ve figured out from reading most of the religious texts is that the Creator had children, in hopes, like all parents, that they would grow up. Something that humanity is, seemingly, quite determined to NOT do….

    Posted by Greg Bailey | October 6, 2011, 11:51 am
  2. Great comment, Greg. I have nothing to add.

    Posted by Living Life Without a Net | October 6, 2011, 11:55 am
  3. You seem to have a lot of misconceptions about Christianity. You should check the right sources for bible.

    Posted by Lara | October 7, 2011, 12:15 am
  4. Interesting post. For me the process of rejecting Christianity began when I was a young adult in a Sunday school class study of the Old Testament. The priest/teacher stated that it was not necessary to believe in miracles in order to be a good Christian. I was appalled and confronted him about it. The more he talked and made excuses the more I wanted to check it out for myself. It took a lot of years to rid myself of the burden placed on me by my parents and the holy book of the Christian was the center of my research. The more I read the bible the less I could believe it.

    Posted by Interested | October 7, 2011, 8:39 am
  5. This is a really odd question as far as my own deconversion went. What led me to finally rejecting Christianity was the arguments against it presented by Jews. So, even if, at the time, I believed 100% of the NT, the Jewish arguments against Christianity being a “logical” continuation of Judaism were too strong. Jesus could have done all of the miracles presented, been crucified and resurrected, but this still didn’t mean that Christianity was “true”, because none of that proved that Jesus was the Jewish messiah.

    Posted by J. Quinton | October 11, 2011, 8:54 am

Leave a Reply

Follow Me On Twitter!

