you're reading...
Activism, Atheism

A Thanksgiving Project for Non-Believers

On November 5, I wrote an article about Anne Gaylor for the Atlanta Atheism Examiner.  In it, I described her decades old foundation which provides funds for women who cannot afford abortions.  (Think about it… if they can’t afford an abortion, can they afford a child?!)  She has been doing this charitable work almost entirely by herself for over 30 years, and is funded by private donations only.

The article I wrote is part of a contest called “America Inspired.”  Currently, we are in the nomination phase.  If chosen for the final round, we will have the option to vote for Anne.  If she receives the most votes, she will receive $50,000 for her charity.

Step one is making it to the final round.  As I write this article, there are just over 1,200 “thumbs up” on the page.  Let’s take this Thanksgiving week to try to get to 5,000.  Since the subject matter is controversial, we want to ensure that the staff at Examiner has no choice but to pick this article as a finalist.  It’s not good enough to just be popular.  We must make it the most popular article.

If you’d like to help me achieve this goal, here’s what you do:

STEP 1:  Go to the webpage:  CLICK HERE (It will open in a new window.)

STEP 2:  On the upper left is a Facebook “Like” button.  Click it.

STEP 3:  Underneath that are three more buttons:  “Send,” “Tweet,” and “Share.”  If you can, do all three of these.

STEP 4:  If you’d like to email it to lots of your friends, there’s an EMAIL button as well.

STEP 5:  If you are registered with any social media sites like Stumbleupon, Digg, Reddit, or Linkedin, share on those sites.

STEP 6:  For the remainder of this week, repeat steps 3-5 as often as possible.

The whole process will take less than ten minutes, and if you help me by encouraging all of your friends to do the same thing, we can make this article HUGE.  I can’t think of anything else you can do for ten minutes a day that could have such an amazing impact on so many people’s lives.  A $50,000 donation could change the lives of 100 women in dire need.

Let’s make this a year of exceptional charity for non-believers so we will stand in sharp contrast to the misogyny and hate being spewed towards women by so many believers around the country.  Let’s be a force for great good.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “A Thanksgiving Project for Non-Believers

  1. I feel weary giving to a charity that only treats the symptoms

    Posted by Alison | November 21, 2011, 11:04 pm
  2. I feel weary of you never liking anything an atheist tries to do to help.

    Posted by Living Life Without a Net | November 21, 2011, 11:14 pm
  3. I feel weary of you never liking anything an atheist tries to do to help.

    Hooey, I like what a lot of atheists are doing.

    This isn’t about atheism, this isn’t even about abortion. I can even accept in most of these cases, abortion would be the lesser of two evils.

    This is about helping girls who need help. They most likely need more help than an abortion. I did some self reflection on my views on abortion, and realized that my objection to it is that some women use it as a quick fix and to ignore their other problems that could lead to it. They get abortions rather than get help.

    Maybe Anne gets these girls the help they need, maybe she doesn’t.

    I hope Anne is doing this, I really do. I hope it’s my knee jerk prudish initial reaction that’s telling me that this may not be the case. I hope it’s my bias against pro-choicers.

    But unless I see evidence, I see any indication that she is, I can’t say that for sure.

    Posted by Alison | November 22, 2011, 12:14 am
  4. Hamby: (LOL) I agree, but understanding “Alison” and her various positions on things political, atheist, and secular have become a priority (again.) Unless, of course, she tells me to stop. Then I ignore her.

    Apparently, she has a profound impact on people.

    Posted by Robert "Kapkao" Hester | November 22, 2011, 12:11 pm
  5. Article: No, I don’t think a woman should have a child if they can’t even afford their own abortion. Not at an estimated 7billion world population. The funny thing is, I prompted such “population control” remarks before in junior high, and I live in the state west of Hamby; Alabama. Only one person wanted to hear it, and that was the teacher herself (neither fundamentalist or evangelical.) I was 14 at the time.

    Fast-forward about 14 years, and today we are amidst a crisis of population and consumption that can only be slowed by either willing self-limitation (with perhaps help from education and charity) or disparity in quality of life, disease, death, turmoil, domestic warfare and violence, etc.

    Outside of Georgia, or even Alabama or The United Stated, this is a dilemma not easily dealt with.

    Posted by Robert "Kapkao" Hester | November 22, 2011, 12:30 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow Me On Twitter!

